Disaster!! (averted)

DISASTER has nearly struck our travels in Cambodia. For those of a nervous disposition, I can tell you that there is a happy ending to this tale, but it was a little too close for comfort.

We were on our way back from visiting the flooded forest around Kompong Pluk, happily tuk-tukking our way to Siem Reap, when… my pink hat blew off my head and onto the main road!! “STOP!!!” we yelled at the driver, with such urgency that he probably thought there had been an accident. I leapt from the tuk-tuk, and set off in hot pursuit of my hat, which was now some distance away. Srouern, our driver, thought this was hilarious, but Mr Beet understood the gravity of the situation and knew that I would be inconsolable if my hat was lost. Thankfully I managed to rescue it before it went under the wheels or hooves of any passing traffic.

If anyone is thinking that I’m being overdramatic calling this a disaster, then you just don’t realise how much I love that hat. I bought it in 2003 for Mr Beet’s and my first holiday together and it has been a stalwart of every summer since. Originally bright pink, it is now significantly faded, has an ink stain on the back and never really recovered from the time Mr Beet borrowed it at Glastonbury and sweated so much that the brim was caked with salt.

A woman and her hat – a love story…

Lol taking in the view

Kayaking in a lagoon in Lan Ha bay

Lol purifies herself before approaching a shrine

One thought on “Disaster!! (averted)

  1. High drama! If you’re going to ride around recklessly on the world’s only high speed tuk-tuk, I think you should treat yourself to a Cambodian ball of string with which to secure your beloved cap under your chin… You be careful out there!!!

Leave a Reply

