Sugar Rush

I don’t drink or smoke, I don’t drink coffee and I can take or leave a cup of tea so no caffeine addiction and I gave up meat for a month a while ago and that was pretty doable.  So the only thing I am really, properly addicted to is sugar.  I have a really sweet tooth.  I love making puddings – here’s the key lime pie I made recently.

and here is a visual representation of how sweet it was.

I’m giving up sugar for a month as an experiment.  It will interesting to see if it makes me feel healthier / more energetic etc (I feel fairly well already to be honest) although I’m going to have to feel pretty bloody amazing to consider giving up cake on a permanent basis.

OK, so obviously no sugar in tea (don’t anyway), no chocolate, no cakes, no puddings.  But also no cereals (apart from shredded wheat I think, maybe some others), no ready meals, no sauces (ketchup or ready-made pasta sauce etc), and apparently no processed meat like ham or sausages.  I’m allowing myself fruit and veg, but no dried fruit or fruit juice (with a loophole for the half a carton of juice already in the fridge, otherwise it will go to waste). I still have a massive box of chocolate goodies left over from Christmas.  So if I fall off the wagon, then that’s there to cushion my fall!

This wasn’t particularly meant coincide with Lent, but rather I was waiting until after V day when Mr Beet was cooking me a nice meal (and it was delish).  I’m only going for one month max – not the whole of Lent.  Can you imagine no sugar for 6 weeks then a load of Easter Eggs?  I’d be like a hyperactive toddler.

Day 1 – Vaguely wonder if there is any sugar in bread.  Decide there probably is, but that I’m not going to go too crazy strict or I’ll never eat anything.

Day 2 – Eat two polos.  Had just eaten garlicky couscous so it was for the benefit of the general public.

Day 3 – Put some cherry flavoured lip balm on and go “ooooh!”.  So sensitivity to sweetness definitely increased (it’s never made me go oooooh before).

Day 4  – Nothing much to report.  I don’t feel particularly amazing.  Nor am I having withdrawal symptoms beyond “quite fancying a jaffa cake”.

Day 5 – Start wanting to do physical harm to people eating chocolate in public.

Day 6 (today) – Have a smoothie made with plain yoghurt, frozen berries and a bit of juice.  So not a massive cheat, but the sweetest thing that I can get away with at the moment.  I enjoy it, but not more so than usual.  I had a chocolate-based dream last night!

2 thoughts on “Sugar Rush

    • Thanks! It was ridiculously sweet. I was thinking of making something for the baby shower (I will be back on sugar with a vengeance by then). I feel it should be Chocolate-themed. I’ll start looking at recipes when I’m closer to being able to have sugar again – no point torturing myself when I’ve still got three weeks to go.

      No it wasn’t you, it was some innocent bystander on the Northern Line with a Divine chocolate bar, which I just wanted to wrestle off her. Also Mr Beet has been leaving chocolate oranges lying around. Doing ok, but I do have moments of weakness!

Leave a comment