30 Things – Paint a picture

One of my 30 things is to paint a picture.  To be honest, it’s one of the things I stuck on the list when I was struggling to come up with ideas, but I used to really enjoy art at school and I love getting my pencils out when it comes to the annual drawing of the “pinning stuff on other stuff” picture for our Christmas party, including such artistic triumphs as pin the nose on rudolph and pin the carrot on the snowman.  Here they are – just to give you an idea of my base line in terms of artistic ability!

My friend Sarah is an awesome artist – here’s some of her work – so I asked her for some guidance and she’s very kindly given me some bits and pieces and some tips to get me started.  I’m going to have a go at acrylic as it’s meant to be the easiest to manage.  Sarah’s given me some boards and an actual canvas, so I’m going to have a play around with different subject matter on the boards and see what I like best, before choosing something for the canvas.

I’m going start by doing some pencil sketches, just to practice getting my eye in before I complicate matters by getting actual paint involved.  As soon as I’m brave enough to actually get started on the paints, I promise to put up pictures of all my attempts no matter how embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

